Commitment to Change


While browsing the Thaddeus Matthews blog I came across a comment from an anonymous poster that made me go hmmm. The comment was posted on a blog entry entitled “Hail to the Chief, President Barack Obama”. The comment not only made me go hmmm but I also said (silently of course) well isn’t that racist, but damn that has a bit of truth to it. Here is the comment

“I hope African Americans take this historic election and grow with it. Please stop the killing,robberies,home invasions and drug dealing.
Please take care of your children,support them financially and keep them in school.Please take pride in your homes,property,community and neighborhoods. And lastly please elect worthy local government leaders who have some business sense and can help bring jobs back to Memphis.”

I am pretty sure the anonymous poster was a Memphis resident and even though Memphis is riddled with crime daily the crime problem cannot be solely placed on African Americans. I am pretty sure the person who posted that comment knows that not all of the violence that takes place here in Memphis and elsewhere is committed by African American people but when they turn on the news what do they see, yep you guessed it, black people killing, shooting and robbing on the daily. So I placed myself in a white person’s shoes.

***putting on brown leather boat shoes***

I wake up in the morning, turn on the morning news while I fix my coffee and prepare to head off to work. The news anchor announces that there were two murders last night while we were sleeping. One involved a robbery gone bad in the South part of town, where two black men attempted to rob a home and one of the robbers were killed, the other fled the scene wounded. The second was a murder stemming from a domestic situation involving (guess who) two young black men. The altercation led to one of the men being shot in the head and killed, the suspect is still on the loose. The police have no clue as to what the initial disagreement was over. If you have any information please contact Crime Stoppers.

I fix my coffee, head to work and as I stop at the gas station I get out to see three black middle aged men buying Colt 45’s. They then crack open the beers right in front of the gas station and stand there chatting about who just got out of jail and who just went back. I pay for my gas (boy am I disgusted by these negroes) I pump my gas and head off to work (still disgusted by these negroes, don’t they have a damn job to go to)

As I get off work that evening I drive down my street in what used to be an all white, comfy and quiet neighborhood to what is now a neighborhood of Section 8 tenants who allow their children to play in the streets and dare you to even make eye contact with them when they run out in front of your car. As I get closer to my home I have to wait a moment to pull into my driveway because the young black guys who live a few doors down have set up a basketball goal right near my home and they are taking their precious time clearing the area so I can pull into the driveway.

As I lie in bed that night I flip to the news and here we go again, another black person has been killed. This time a black woman in her mid twenties has stabbed another young woman over what seems to be an ongoing feud. The news also gives an update to the morning murder that ended in the young man being shot in the head. A tip called in to police states that the argument was over drug money. As I lie in bed that night trying to think good thoughts, I decide that black people are worse than my grandparents told me they were. At least back then they were obedient, now they are uncivil, violent and a threat to themselves and everyone else. Damn them!

***removing brown leather boat shoes and the white person’s perspective***

I am fully aware that not all white people feel that way, just as many white people are aware that black people are not the root of all evil. But we as black people need to take a good long look at ourselves before we wonder why many other races want nothing to do with us. Of course it is wrong of them to group us as a whole, but many of the  sentiments that other races have about black people, many black people also believe.  Not only are many white people scared of black people, hell many black people are scared of black people!

..sorry yall but I have to tell the truth on this one. White people look at the news and shake their damn head and I look at the news and shake my damn head too. They are disgusted and I am utterly disgusted.

So I decided to dissect the comment by the anonymous poster

BGT sentiments in red

 
 

I hope African Americans take this historic election and grow with it.Please stop the killing,robberies,home invasions and drug dealing. (damn that’s what I was thinking)
Please take care of your children,support them financially and keep them in school. (shouldn’t that be a given for parents of all races why should someone have to tell you to do that) Please take pride in your homes,property,community and neighborhoods. (if you live like you don’t care, most likely you don’t. Why should the neighborhood depreciate just because you don’t care about cutting your grass or painting your home, why should everyone else suffer?) And lastly please elect worthy local government leaders who have some business sense and can help bring jobs back to Memphis.”  (we vote black, they vote white, we all vote in con men)

 

 

 

 

 

 

unit19

With Barack Obama being elected President of the USA African Americans are rejoicing all over the country. We wanted change and we believe that Barack Obama will provide us with that change.

…but what change will we committ to?  What changes in our community, in our outlook on life, in the way we view our neighborhoods and our responsibility to our children will change?  What changes will we make to how we view the importance of our education? What change will we make to helping each other instead of harming each other? What changes will we as African Americans offer in making our people better as a whole?

The killing, robbing, disrespect, ignorance and careless attitudes about education must end. That sector has to be done and over with. The chains of ignorance must be broken. The mindset of knowing better but not doing so must be tossed out the window.

If we demand change from Barack Obama, we must first offer change from ourselves. If the world changes and we remain the same, 50 years from now we will be right where we have been for so long, smack dab at the bottom.

 

 
  1. Obama made me cry…:)

    “If we demand change from Barack Obama, we must first offer change from ourselves”
    Love it! Well said!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

